Nutty pesto

28 Aug

Who doesn’t like a good pesto?

Well, okay, I didn’t.  I am not sure if it was the overpowering basil and garlic flavor that I didn’t like, or if it was just that I had never had FRESHLY made pesto.  Lemme tell you, freshness makes a world of difference!

Not too long ago, I was watching Lidia of Italy on the Create channel.  Yes, that is what I watch for fun.  Did I mention that I don’t have cable?  Makes for some interesting tv viewing choices, lemme tell you. But at least my kids only know the shows that are on PBS.  ANYWAY, she mentioned that pesto could be made with any nut.

Wait.  What?  Any?

Well, I have to tell you, that got me off the couch and into the kitchen almost immediately.  The possibilities are suddenly endless!  And did I mention easy?  Seriously.  This takes all of about 5 minutes to make.

So here we go:

Nutty Pesto

1-1 1/2 cups any nut (almonds, walnuts, pecans, pinenuts, cashews, etc)

3 or 4 cloves fresh garlic

2 cups basil

1 cup parsley or spinach

1/4 cup olive oil, or up to 1/2 cup (I use Chaffin Family Orchard brand)

1 tsp sea salt (or more or less to taste)

For this recipe I used raw organic pecans.  Start by grinding them up in the food processor until they are a course ground.

2013-08-27 15.18.57 2013-08-27 15.19.52

Pull the skins off of the garlic.  Easy way to do this is to lay it on the chop board, lay the flat of a large knife on top and then slam it down with your hand.

2013-08-27 15.23.31 2013-08-27 15.23.54 2013-08-27 15.24.02

Then dump that into the food processor.

2013-08-27 15.25.05

Add the salt, basil and the parsley. (This is where the spinach should go in if it is in season.) I used these fresh from the garden.

2013-08-27 15.25.42 2013-08-27 15.25.17

Start to grind and add the olive oil as it grinds up.

2013-08-27 15.26.41

When it is a nice texture, maybe 2 or 3 minutes later.  Take it out and taste it.

2013-08-27 15.29.27

Yum!  Serve over chicken, or mix into cooked rice noodles with some Parmesan cheese.  Super easy meal, in almost no time.  Kid tested.

One Response to “Nutty pesto”

  1. Tracey August 28, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    My whole family loves this recipe! I’ve made with pecans as well as walnuts. It’s a fast way to have a delicious and healthy dinner. We’ve paired with brown sprouted rice noodles as well as brown rice and it’s delish! I’ve decided that I need to plant some parsley so I always have it on hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

